Pharmaceutical

Kosher Certification for Pharmaceutical Medication

Kosher Certified PharmaceuticalsEarthKosher offers fast, acceptable, and affordable kosher certifications for a variety of industries. From food manufacturing, to beverages, to nutraceuticals, and pharmaceuticals, we work hard to meet our clients’ different needs.

As more and more consumers demand kosher certified products, the demand for kosher pharmaceutical products is also on the rise. These consumers are not only Jewish people who follow kosher law. Many kosher customers are also Muslim, Seventh Day Adventists, vegans, vegetarians, and those who are lactose intolerant.

Many ingredients found in medications today are non-kosher. Getting these certain ingredients kosher certified can have a major impact on the quality of your pharmaceutical medications and the customers who will buy them.

 

Pharmaceutical Ingredients that Require Kosher Certification

Educated consumers who are looking for kosher pharmaceuticals often try to avoid the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium Stearate: Magnesium stearate is made from stearic acid. This is acid is traditionally made by using animal fat derivatives. A kosher certified medication will often ensure that the magnesium stearate is made from vegetable derivatives, appealing to those following a kosher diet along with strict vegans and vegetarians.
  • Lactose: Lactose is used as a binder in most modern pharmaceuticals. Those who are severely lactose intolerant will avoid medications with this ingredient and go for a kosher certified pharmaceutical.
  • Gelatin: Gelatin is often found in soft gels and gel capsules. This ingredient can be made from animal tissue from a non-kosher animal. Kosher certification for a pharmaceutical that contains gelatin will require the gelatin is sourced from vegetables, a kosher animal, or kosher fish.
  • Flavorings: Flavorings are always a subject to be addressed in kosher certification. Many flavorings are non-kosher and need to be replaced with something that can be kosher certified.
  • Glycerin: Glycerin is made from animal fat, vegetable fat, or petroleum. This ingredient is often found in cough syrup and other pharmaceuticals in liquid form.

While kosher certification spans various dietary or religious restrictions, kosher law does allow those who are in a life-threatening situation to take non-kosher medications. However, this rule does not apply to vitamins or supplements.

The kosher certification process for pharmaceutical medications starts with a meeting with one of EarthKosher’s knowledgeable rabbis. Our rabbis work with companies to verify the status of the ingredients in their pharmaceutical product. Once ingredients have been classified as kosher or non-kosher and viability is established, we then move on to the consultation and inspection process.

At EarthKosher, we understand that every client is unique. We were founded with the goals of offering affordable and acceptable certification, with a commitment to straightforward business practices. While kosher customers come first, we work hard to make sure that our kosher certification for pharmaceuticals is not only thorough, but affordable. This is why we offer a free consultation to see if your medication is viable for kosher certification.

Learn more about what EarthKosher can do for your business by visiting us online at Certified.EarthKosher.com. You can also get started with comprehensive certification today, by getting a quote or calling us directly at 888-312-3559.

Share This!

facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailfacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail